My Top 5 Owned Games

Hey there, this isn’t a regular post I generally do, but I have decided to give you a tiny bit more per week (or at least when I can). I’ve decided to only do Top 5 lists rather than Top 10 because frankly I feel that a Top 10 from me will sort of water down my answers. As of right now, I think that anything over my Top 5 will just be throwing things in to finish off the list. So, to get right to the point, here is the Top 5 games that I personally own.

5. Betrayal at the House on the Hill

zqf-009_4zThis is a game that I love getting to the table. There is a wonderful theme that I feel everyone has watched a movie or two about and wished they could have experienced. There is the teamwork aspect to it, but at the same time, you know one of you is against you. So you really have to be weary of who you put faith in. I’ve never had a bad or boring game of Betrayal, however, it unfortunately hasn’t gotten up to the table enough to be higher up on the list.

4. DC Deck Building Game: Heroes Unite

heroes-united-deck-building-gameI am a big fan of superheroes. This precedes my love of games. So this year when my miss lady and son bought be this for Fathers Day, It was immediately on the table and tried out. I loved it and the super hero theme makes it much easier to get to the table with non gamer friends. On top of that, I am finding that I am quite partial to Deck Builders. Likely since I started playing Magic many years ago. Either way, this game gets to the table and the variety of changing decks you build give it a huge replay value.

3. Cards Against Humanity

41164wOO6ZL

As a guy who loves board games, this is a game I’m sure people will definitely disagree with me and probably hate me for even putting this game up, but hear me out. This is a game I love because there is no thinking involved with it, and the entire point of the game is to laugh with your friends. Almost every time I have guests over who aren’t interested in games, we still pull this game out and have a laugh. There is no strategy to this game, other than finding the funniest card to make the judge that turn laugh. How can you REALLY dislike a game so much when the point of it is to laugh with your friends?

2. Pandemic

download

This game was almost not even in my top 5 list until last weekend when I went away to my friends cottage and rekindled my love for this game. This is one of the first games that I owned and I had played it until I thought I would never want to play it again. But after this weekend, I found an entire new love for it and can’t wait to play it again. The game we played came down to our last turn and was one of the most stressful and fun games I’ve played in a long time.

  1. Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Skulls and Shackles

PZO6010_500

This is my absolute favourite game right now. I can’t get enough of it. The RPG style game, but in a (slightly) shortened version and put into a card game. It’s the perfect story style game, and makes you feel like you’re on an adventure. On top of it, you can decide whether to play for a half hour with one scenario, or you can play a bunch of scenarios, lose track of time and realize you’ve played for 8 hours on New Year’s Eve. It plays so well though, that  if you have the time, you don’t even notice that time has passed. This makes it the perfect game for me right now, and you can always find me suggesting it to people.

Hope that you enjoyed this, and I’m hoping to do a new one next week. Have a good week, and I’ll talk to you Tuesday! Love you all!

Leave a Reply

