First Impressions: Fire Ants! By Adam White

It’s that time of the week again, where I put up a new post. This week, I’ll be doing a first impressions review of Fire Ants! by Adam White. I did an interview with Adam a couple of weeks ago, which you can check out as well. (To be honest, I’ve tried to put in a link here, but for some reason I’m having trouble with my computer today, just go check it out. It’s on this blog.)

fas

How it’s played

I’ve been lucky to have people enjoy interviews with me, so thus far, I haven’t had to describe how to play games, because I feel like I would run on about how to play the game, and that just wouldn’t be fun for anyone to drag through. Luckily, I have the privilege to once again, let Adam White tell you all about his game in his own words, rather than me giving you a whole long unorganized version. Without further ado, here it is:

” It’s pretty simple and easy to pick up. Each player gets 3 cards to start the game with the youngest player going first and continuing clockwise. There is a “starter” fire that’s put into the middle of the table before cards are distributed. What players will find in the community deck are 4 resources: Water, Plastic, Metal, and Ant Magic! (with Ant Magic being a wild card that can be played as any one of the 3 other resources.) There are also different level fire cards in the deck that can be drawn. Level 1-5, each level is harder and harder to extinguish. For instance, a level 1 fire card is 1 water, 1 plastic, and 1 metal. The catch is: if 7 fire cards show up at the same time on the table, each player gets ONE MORE TURN without drawing from the deck to put a fire out. If no one does, everyone loses the game. Levels of fires are the “points” counted at the end of the game. For instance… if you have 3 level 1 fire cards, you get 3 points!”

So, that’s that. Now you know the basics to playing. On to the next section!

The Pretty Little Bow.

This game comes in a fairly basic card box. There is quite a few cards in it, and it is slightly bigger than a standard deck of cards. The art is excellent for the target audience, which is a younger crowd. The cards have fun pictures of ants on them holding which ever resource is on that specific card. Overall, a very well packaged game.

The way you play

This is a very basic game, and is very easily played and rules are easy to pick up. You get to draw a card, followed by using the resources you’ve drawn to extinguish fires. If when you draw a resource card, and it has a fire on it, you put it into the middle of the table, and the game goes on. Once there are seven fires, you aren’t allowed to draw for a round to lower the number of fires on the table. If you can’t extinguish any fires for an entire round, then the game is over. If you get through the entire deck, then whoever has the most points wins the game. That’s all there is to it. As I said, a very basic game.

What’s not to love?

There are a couple of issues I had with this game. Both of which I feel have to do with the target audience. First of all, I feel that this game is made for a younger audience. This is certainly a great game to get your children playing games. It’s definitely fun enough to keep you playing, but you will notice fairly quickly that you are not the target audience. This is what makes my second issue, an issue. I feel that the cards are a bit flimsy. Normally this isn’t an issue for me, but when the game is geared towards children, I feel that the cards should hold up to a bit more punishment. These are really the only issues I have seen with the game. Like I say however, I don’t feel that I’m the person that this is geared towards, and I know my three year old son, while slightly young to play correctly, has had fun “buying” fires while matching resources already.

What’d ya think?

As of right now, I love knowing that I will have a game that my son will pick up very soon. With my collection of games, he can play exactly two games with me right now. This, and Sorry!. Even though I am not the one this game is for, I feel it has to grab my attention enough to want to play with my son. This game accomplishes this very easily. My attention is held through the game, and I have a new game to play with my son. That to me is what it’s all about. Sure, I’ll have many games that he won’t play with me for years to come, and others that will be another 6 or 7 years before he picks up to comprehend game play, but this, I expect him to be playing properly well before he hits 5. If I could change one thing about the game, it would be upgrading the card quality. This is a very solid kids game in my opinion, and is perfect a perfect game to get your young one up to the table playing, rather than looking up and trying to reach for your dice and play with them while you’re counting them to figure out how much brick you get in Stone Age or something.

Added Bonus

I don’t know that this is something I should do a review of, so that’s why I’ve made up this section tonight. However, here I am. This past weekend, we had a small BBQ with some family. We pulled these cards out and played a variation that Adam had told me about in out interview a few weeks ago. Every time a fire card comes up, take a shot. We played with beer shots rather than real shots, mainly because we still hadn’t gotten to dinner yet. It was a load of fun. This way to play keeps the game simple, and is a great small party variation. I don’t suggest playing this variation with your young children, but then again who am I to judge what you do. I do however, completely suggest trying this out at a small party, or even at a pre-bar, or something if you’re going out to indulge and want to play a super light game before dancing your face off to weird music that I don’t understand in the least. You can imagine why I didn’t add this into the actual review, but I feel that it was fun enough to mention and put some ideas into your head about playing when you get a chance.

P.S. means Post-Script right?

So, this has nothing to do with the review aspect of the game, but I thought it would be nice to mention that Fire Ants! was successfully funded, and that if you get a chance to hit up Twitter, take a minute to congratulate @AdamationGaming !

Love you all, and I can’t wait to give you another review next week! Oh wait, no. I think I have an interview. Geeze. I need a calendar or something. Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

