Marvels Legendary Solo Play

Hey there guys, nice to have you back on this wonderful Tuesday. Time for a super short blurb about me. I’m from a small town. That means it’s harder to find people to play games with. Not because you have less friends if you’re a small towner, but there isn’t a game store that’s easy to get to, to play with some friendly strangers. And it’s tough in a small town to find people who can accept that board games are fun and an interesting thing and aren’t children on rain days at school. That was longer than expected. Sorry. Anyway, for this week, I’ve decided to give a solo game of Marvels Legendary a go. I’ve had this game for over a year and I believe I’ve played it a total of about one time. Just haven’t had an opportunity to get a good few games out of it. Alone or with others.

Run Down

I’m not one to really do big rule run downs, so I’m not going to change now. Yet anyways. I may do more detailed rules if there comes a day that I start doing videos, but today isn’t that day. I just think if you want to read about rules of a game, you’d probably read something more detailed and more properly worded. Like, the rule book. Anyway, quick rundown. Right. The board is set up to make your life pretty easy. You match the picture on the board with the pictures on the cards. You then follow the setup that is placed right on the board and get ready to save the city. You start with 8 agents and 4 troopers. You use those to either attack, or buy some of the superheroes that are placed in the HQ. So, what do you build a deck up for you ask? I’ll tell you. Every turn, as part of your turn, you reveal a card from a Villain Deck. With the heroes that you “hire”, or “draft” or whatever you’d like to call it, you will have an opportunity to battle the villain(s) that are revealed and on the table. Defeated villains will represent the amount of victory points you build up at the end of the game. There are other aspects to the game as well, but if you want more in depth rules for how to play the game, I would suggest to grab the game, give the rules a read, and play the heck out of it.

Solo Play

I found this game in a one player setting, to be a little too predictable almost. The biggest fall back with predictability is that you have five heroes in your HQ, and there is no opponent to get in your way from taking something you can’t necessarily afford on that specific turn. You always know that whatever is in the HQ will be there when you can afford it. There is no pressure to try and push for a more valuable card, because you know that no one else will get it before you. Having this advantage doesn’t give you any incentive to really try and adapt to making more use of bonus’. If I’ve gotten through most of my deck, and deduced I can afford something more expensive on my next turn and can focus on attacking this turn if the bonus’ work in that favor, why wouldn’t I wait a turn? It’s not like anyone else is going to take a good card sitting in the HQ if I don’t take it right away.

My Game

I found the game that I played alone to be quite forgetful. There wasn’t really any big challenges against the henchmen that I was fighting. The longest part of the game that I played alone was building a deck up enough to have a chance to beat up on the villain that I was fighting. To me, playing with one player was more effective practice than anything else. There just isn’t incentive to really make the game work in a one player setting. I actually had a very good combination of characters that meshed well together(I had Thor, Hulk, Storm I believe). Having them work well together really made it an easy round for me. Almost immediately, I had either a bonus for purchasing, or a bonus for fighting. All the superheroes may be that compatible with each other, but as I have limited experience playing this game, I’m not certain about that fact. All I know for certain is that the three heroes I had worked very good with each other.

Overall Impression

Please see Solo Play.

Next Section

My Overall Impression section was lacking. I apologize.

Final Section

I feel like these last couple sections were unessential. Although, I didn’t think that I would review a game, so this post ended up kind of odd for me. However, I feel like I went into a different area of a game that isn’t covered as often in reviews. Not that is this very in depth, but I think the differences here are outlined fairly well. For a full review, there are tons of reviewers out there that have wonderful abilities that I lack in, and I will let the pro’s do what they do. I’m just going to sit here in my small little corner, and try to find a unique way to get my passion for board games across.

Leave a Reply

